Understanding packaging with conda and pip files

Hi I am a long time(ish) user of conda and its packaging world but also not super experienced in python. I am moving our team away from Conda into Pip (won’t go in to that ) but needless to say I am somewhat overwhelmed about it all.

Currently I am working on converting many (100s) of our quant packages over to Pip/pyproject.toml (we are about 7 years behind on all things python currently).

Question is: Can I include conda packages in my pyproject.toml dependencies section?

Will they be included/work with a wheel?
Do I need to declare/specify anything special?
Is noarch python and noarch generic an issue?

When I currently try run the below it says it cannot find those conda (tar.bz2) packages on pypi.org

python -m build wheel

I worry as I have little knowledge of pip packaging that we cannot use any of our conda package source code in Pip wheels anymore because its incompatible.

Really at a loss here - have googled many nights and unfortunately searching with terms like ‘pip’ and ‘conda’ brings up completely unrelated results :confused:

Maybe there is a tool I can use to convert conda projects to pip? Any help would be appreciated

1 Like

hey @pycsharpdev :wave: welcome to pyOpenSci. :pyos_animated:

Are the packages on conda that you’re trying to include as deps pure python or are there other languages?

If you have dependencies that are only on conda- you won’t be able to install them as a dependency from PyPI because as you’ve encountered, they are on a totally different packaging platform / repository - one that pip doesn’t interact with. Often conda is used because of it’s support for languages beyond Python.

if you have non python code that you want to include in a python package you’ll need to compile and bundle it with your wheel as extensions or some other build format.